It’s Like A Dream- I

It’s like a dream now–faded around the edges. I can see it and feel it and hear it. But I almost can’t remember it. It’s a blur, you see. Of orange fleece and shy smiles. The way you looked at me made my skin prickle with glee. A rainy night, an apologetic hug, and then late night giggling about what I thought was.

Then there was a party. On a cold and windy day. You watched me carefully and I pretended not to care. It was a silent flirtation that screamed to us.

“Forever. Forever and always.”

Twenty-six hands and we still found each other; quietly congratulating ourselves on the sly way our fingers danced towards the other. I never wanted to let go.

But I didn’t know you. I didn’t know about you. I just knew I wanted you.

So later, when pipe dreams and cold cement clattered around us, I felt my last grip give way. And then I was falling. Deeper and farther than I ever had before.

I didn’t want to say goodbye.

Add your voice...

