don’t shout at me

I think, sometimes, that I’d rather have
a raised hand to my face than
a raised voice to my heart.
The first hurts for a minute, leaving
a momentary mark.
The second hurt for a millenium, leaving
a forever scar.

One thought on “don’t shout at me

  1. I still say the worst punishment is silence. A complete refusal to acknowlege another person existence…awful. Beatings have become meaningless, and words used in haste and hurt but will heal. But I like this none the less. Well written, not that needs saying.

Add your voice...

