Time Stops

The power went out
in my eighteen year-old
house. It set my digital
clock to blinking fiercely;
12:00
12:00
12:00
I am hesitant to return it
forward to the proper time.
I don’t know why, maybe
my heart feels a strange
sense of harmony past
in the steady blinking;
12:00
12:00
12:00
Like the time you saw
my worried soul through
flooded windows. Or tasted
love through my open door,
breathing sweet life into
this walking shell. Then
you were gone with
12:00
12:00
12:00
I locked all my doors and
shuttered the windows
then all of my will–
my power–went out
short and left me blinking;
12:00
12:00
12:00
after your retreating shadow.
My digital clock seems
to have stopped
without
you here.

Add your voice...

