flight of fancy

at a placid standstill
with blue lights marking
pathways I will only
take partway

I wait
               patiently
my breath
               baited
for the
               chaotic
roar to
               begin

then he yells
terrifying and comforting
(and oh, so quiet)
rumbling around me

forward I start
in his arms (I imagine)
slowly at first

then
               rushing
until
               feelings
of
               weightlessness
and no
               control
take over my body
ready and willing my
heart
               soars

literal lights below
lilting at his voice
blinking with surprised
anticipation as he
                 flies
above their questions
with me.

clouded serenity
envelopes us (so alone)
so claustrophobic
so comfortable
and the jealous crowd
fades, ever so
                 slowly
waiting for my return

his wings are spread
revealing and
                reveling
in skyfull teardrops
that echo
my
                 heavy heart
it’s all I see.
Will I ever return?

Add your voice...

