alone

I hear the words
without really listening
my memories
have overtaken
all senses

he talks to me
voice strangely soothing
calming forgotten fears
and hidden sorrows

talking right back
with lighthearted banter
I don’t think he knows
quite what I’m feeling
do I know myself?

agitation
fear
revolt
longing
wishing
I’ll never know

right now I am so very alone
isolated, deserted
except for a voice
on the line

she remembers me, does she?
Oh, I’m sure.
she misses me, does she?
Hah. Right.

Add your voice...

